Favorite Black?

carbonheliumnitrogen

I am looking for a black ink for use on a variety of paper types/quality (I am a student). I'd prefer the ink to be non-feathering and somewhat waterproof, but those aren't necessary. Also, I am on a budget, so I'm not looking to spend above, say, $15.

Suggestions?

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• UDog

• senzen

• Runnin_Ute

• bonsaiboy

Aurora Black is a nice and very dark black ink not waterproof. Hero 232 Blue Black is an iron gall ink that is waterproof and, like all IG inks, doesn't feather much. It is very inexpensive and worth a try even though it is blue-black.

We Are Our Ancestors’ Wildest Dreams

Only one of the two I have is available commercially. Noodler's Black. I don't use a lot of black, I have had this bottle for over 2 years and it is barely to the bottom of the neck of the bottle. Which means I have used maybe 5 ml or so.

Brad

"Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind" - Rudyard Kipling
"None of us can have as many virtues as the fountain-pen, or half its cussedness; but we can try." - Mark Twain

Noodler's Dark Matter meets your requirements and has a great backstory.

Walk in shadow / Walk in dread / Loosefish walk / As Like one dead

My top 3:

Pilot take-sumi (maybe a little over your budget)

Sailor Kiwa-Guro - easily my favorite performing black ink

Aurora Black - My favorite color of black ink, almost velvety.

I tend to think pilot iroshuzuku is sort of the best of both worlds in a way but each toned down. Take-Sumi isn't a rich black but is blacker than kiwa-guro. The performance isn't quite as amazing as kiwa-guro however it has a decent dry time and fairly low feathering with decent lunrication.

It all depends on what you want really. If color matters more, id go with aurora black. If no feathering and permanence matters to you, id go with sailor kiwa-guro. If you can't decide, id pick up a bottle of iroshuzuku take-sumi.