Choosing An Ink

DNC

A newbie here. Is choosing an ink only about visual appeal? I know factors such as nib size can effect how the ink appears from one pen to another, but are all inks able to be used in all pens without issue? At first I would only use ink labeled the same brand as the pen. Now I am wanting to use other brands due to how appealing the color might be. I ask this question before I acquire an expensive fountain pen. Thank you.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• amberleadavis

• DNC

• Sailor Kenshin

• ac12

The simple answer is, yes, all inks can be used in all pens without issue. Usually. Sometimes matching brands can forestall certain issues -- for example, Pelikan pens tend to be wet-writing, so Pelikan inks tend to be dryer than other inks -- but there's absolutely no requirement to match brands.

That said, there are some inks that are hard on pens for various reasons: Iron-gall inks, for example, tend to have precipitates that can clog a pen if the pen is not used daily and flushed regularly. Some colors can stain clear pens, although there are ways of mitigating or reversing that. Usually. Sometimes there's a batch of ink that just reacts badly to chemicals in a pen, and causes corrosion of plastic or rubber parts. A few years ago there was a batch of Baystate Blue that melted Lamy feeds, although now either the ink has been reformulated or Lamy has started using a different kind of plastic, because I've heard nothing since then. If you read up the ink reviews here, however, you'll learn soon enough which ones are problematic, and then -- well, you can avoid them, or make sure that you're trying them out in a really cheap pen that you can take apart and clean or replace with no tears.