Questions On Faber-Castell Loom & Piston Coveter

Samantha_L

Hi everyone!

I'm new to Fountain Pen Network, and I have some question regarding Faber-Castell Loom. And piston converter.

I just brought Loom, and when I put in the converter in and turn it a little to ensure it is in place, the nib/feed started turning too. Sort of like unscrewing from the body.

Might be a stupid question but why does it do that? Is it because it is for changing the nib?

Another burning question I have is whenever I ink up my pens using a piston converter, there is this air that goes up first before the ink starts to fill the converter.

I have fully submerged the nib into the ink, so I am wondering why is it like that? Any suggestions for me to get rid of the air when I ink up my pens next time? :)

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Old_Inkyhand

• DevrimJan

• Samantha_L

• majolo

Top Posters In This Topic

It is very hard to get rid of all the air. The best method (IMHO) is to fill the converter directly from the bottle, wipe it and then put it into the pen.

In my Faber-Castell Ambition it is quite easy to unscrew the nib unit, sometimes it becomes slightly loose without a good reason, so I always make sure that this is tightly screwed before I start writing. If you have to turn your converter, I suggest you to hold the nib and feed at the same time, to stop them from turning (be careful and don't stain your fingers :) ). I don't think that you really need to move the converter after having it properly installed. I've had no problems with mine - so far.