Help I.d. This Dip Nib? Cheap Chinese Nib?

TexJake

Howdy All, just looking for a little help/advice here... Looking for an I.D. or a good recommendation of something similar. My apologies for simple stuff here, I am still very new to dip nibs.

A friend of mine have me this when they found out I was interested in calligraphy. It came in a set called "The Calligrapher's Studio" by Claire Secrett. Neither this book nor my initial searches online have turned up an answer as to the maker or name of this nib. I am aware this is a very entry level, basic/cheap nib, but that suits me for now... Although I would be interested in others' thoughts and recommendations.

I like the hooded design, as I can get about 20-30 words on my practice sheets at a time, which is great. Are there other widely available nibs like this that anyone can recommend? Or something better? I haven't been able to find anything similar at the local art store.

Here's a couple pictures, sorry I can't do much better. These photos show the markings as well (or better, in fact) as I can see them IRL.

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l218/blindmouse4/Mobile%20Uploads/image_1.jpg

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l218/blindmouse4/Mobile%20Uploads/image.jpg

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• TexJake

• smk

• Randal6393

• aclef

Hi, TexJake, Welcome to FPN!

Inexpensive or not, no nib that gets such lovely lettering is cheap. I remember seeing similar nibs listed, seems maybe older Esterbrooks? The clamped-on reservoir on the top of the nib reminds me of Tachikawa nibs or Tape nibs. Both nibs are mostly broad-edged, not pointed.

If you want to go modern, there are many excellent pointed nibs available these days. Although the vintage nib crowd doesn't much like them. My favorites are the Gillot 303 or 404, the Leonardt Principal EF, the Brause Rose nib. And there are others around.