Extremely Happy With My New Limited Edition Montblanc Francoise I But...

Bigmacmagicmac

Hello everyone,

Happy to have found such a great resource on one of my favorite objects, fountain pens. I have been writing with my Parker Duofold for almost 25 years daily and I could´t love any pen more. At least that´s what I thought. Recently I had been looking for a writer´s edition Montblanc pen but then suddenly they also had in the same store a Francoise I....

OMG what a pen, what a weight, style, detail. Everything. It just was no comparison at all with the William Faulkner next to it. With all due respect the Faulkner was and is also amazing but (mainly because of the weight) still I was kinda blown away by the Francoise I.

BTW I have included the pictures of my beloved pens.

Anyway in the store I wrote endlessly with not only my Parker (to compare) but also both Montblanc pens. The Faulkner was clearly smoother, wetter and the ink just came out much more abundant and easier. The pen floated on air. The Francoise was less wet, less ink came out this was a little bit of a concern to me. Compared with my good old Parker the Faulkner really was almost similar.

BTW both had the F nib which was fine I think since the Parker also has a F nib and is ok for me so I was not inclined to switch to a M anyway.

Anyhow, still a bit doubtful I was so blown away but the Francoise I that I kind off neglected a bit that the Faulkner was the better writer (no joke intended since Mr. Faulker was writer). So decided to buy it.