Should I Store The Ink After Pen Cleaning ?

sherman1873

I am new to fountain pens and I was just wondering if when I have to clean my pen (which I read was about once per month) can I keep the ink that I get out of it before starting the cleaning process so that I can use it later, or should I just throw that ink away. I might not be able to use all of my ink in a month, so I just wanted to know if I can save up the ink for later use, is it usable ?

(I am asking this because I read about how fibers from the paper, dust particles and dried ink must be cleaned, so in my mind there is a chance that that stuff could also be found in the ink, and I don't want to use an ink that has such particles, potentially getting my pen stuck or something)

Thanks in advance and sorry for my noobyness

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sherman1873

• tinta

• haruka337

• Pterodactylus

I think the prevailing wisdom is that one should just discard the old ink rather than putting it back in the bottle. I confess that I've often squirted my unused ink back into the bottle. It hasn't caused problems thus far. However, I usually have only a tiny bit of ink left in the pen by the time I'm ready for cleaning, so it usually just goes down the drain.

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy. Hamlet, 1.5.167-168

I think the prevailing wisdom is that one should just discard the old ink rather than putting it back in the bottle. I confess that I've often squirted my unused ink back into the bottle. It hasn't caused problems thus far. However, I usually have only a tiny bit of ink left in the pen by the time I'm ready for cleaning, so it usually just goes down the drain.