Hey Guys,

I am currently a Junior at high school and a big fan of fountain pens, as a student I only use fountain pens with the exception of a Rotring 500 for math. My experience with some fountain pens has been great, others not so much. I started out with a Lamy Safari in Medium, accidentally dropped it after a couple of months and broke the nib. I then got a Lamy AL Star (M), which had an incredibly smooth nib, at the same time I got a new Safari (M) to put another ink in, and it had a very bad nib, straight out of the box the tines were very uneven, and the bead at the end was beyond fixing, and there was absolutely nothing that can be done to fix that nib. I received a Parker IM for Christmas, which was a complete disappointment, very scratchy, and generally low quality nib same with another Parker Jotter I got.

I take very good care of my pens and frequently wash them and clean them and my ink of choice is the Pelikan 4001.

I want to invest in a new pen, one that I can keep for years as a daily pen, price is not the biggest issue, since I intend to save for it. I want something that has consistent quality, ruggedness, and smoothness, basically an everyday pen. I want it to be a step up from my Lamys and Parkers.

Tl:Dr

A Student looking for a reliable, high quality, rugged, smooth, and utility pen. Price is no issue.

Through trials on lower end pens:

Lamy Steel nibs, Can be very smooth, but can also be terrible. Generally non consistent quality.

Parker IM and Jotter: Complete and utter disaster, even when changing inks, papers, and frequent washes.

I want a pen to invest in, what are my options?

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Zouz99

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ac12

• Zouz99

• Ecriveur

• sandy101

Preferred price range? I'll go with the upper half of the below $100 range.

Twsbi 580 AL. Aluminum bits to make it sturdier, holds lots of ink in a dedicated piston filler. $60