Parker 51; Why Not Bring It Back?

Desert Rider

Newbie here, and I haven't posted much. But....I've been wondering for a while, why Parker doesn't re-issue the 51. Perhaps update it (blaspheme?), or keep it as it was.

It's such an iconic pen I don't see any downside to re-issuing a modernized version, keeping it stylistically retro and using today's materials and technology.

My dad had one or two back in the day and he gave me one, but of course it's long gone.

Thanks for your responses.

Lamy Safari

Sheaffer 300

Monteverde Invincia

• Replies 118
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mitto

• pajaro

• FarmBoy

• Flounder

A 'modernised' version of the 51 would not be a 51 even if they call/name it so. We need the real thing with the same materials and attire. We saw the fate of 51 SE model. Didn't we?

Khan M. Ilyas

If they issue a new "51" it will cost more than a NOS 51. There are plenty of Parker 51s in the marketplace. The originals are less costly than a reissue, which would not be the same pen at all. It would likely be a C/C pen with about the same performance as a Sonnet. Why bother?

"Don't hurry, don't worry. It's better to be late at the Golden Gate than to arrive in Hell on time."
--Sign in a bar and grill, Ormond Beach, Florida, 1960.

Got it. I can see the differences between an original, and a remake. Just wondered since there are so many pens on the market and there's a huge demand for the 51, that a re-issue could be successful. But I also understand that collectors wouldn't give it the same respect as the original.

Thanks for your responses.

If they issue a new "51" it will cost more than a NOS 51. There are plenty of Parker 51s in the marketplace. The originals are less costly than a reissue, which would not be the same pen at all. It would likely be a C/C pen with about the same performance as a Sonnet. Why bother?

+1

Just like they did with the modern Duofolds.

Khan M. Ilyas