Good Non-Expensive Secure Ink?

SammieNelson

I'm a FP newbie. I need to order a non-expensive ink that is secure yet won't clog up my FP. (Secure meaning that I can sign checks with it, journal with it in a moleskine without smearing). I don't know much about ink, and I've already tried to order FP ink but ordered the wrong kind. (Don't worry...I realized this before I ever put it in my FP!) I'm hoping to find ink that is under $10 for a 2 or 3oz bottle. Thank you!

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dcwaites

• tonybelding

• katerchen

• Sasha Royale

The price of inks varies considerably if you are in the USA or in Europe, not to mention other places. A bottle of 2oz Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Black costs around 5 to 6 € here in Europe, the Goulet's sell them for 13 US$ I believe. Same goes for other great inks like Aurora or Rohrer & Klingner.

On the other side, it is much more expensive for us to buy Noodler's, because of the shipping costs. That said, since you are in the US I would say Noodlers Bullet Proof black is a good bet. A bottle of 3oz costs 12,5 US$ on the Goulet's site. No affiliation but a happy customer.

+1 for Noodler's Black.

If you are willing to spend a bit more, please look into Montblanc's line of permanent inks that are ISO-14145-2 certified.

Check out xfountainpen dot com for a selection of great and inexpensive inks. Careful though - they also have the more expensive ones, and once you're sucked in...

(no affiliation, just a satisfied customer. Keep coming back, too!)

a fountain pen is physics in action... Proud member of the SuperPinks

fpn_1425200643__fpn_1425160066__super_pi

Not exactly sure what you mean by secure, but ESSRI is one of my favourites. It is waterproof, doesn't feather, doesn't bleed through, and they ship it worldwide. I always have at least one pen inked with it. :)