Help? Wrong Ink?

SammieNelson

I'm a fountain pen newbie. I have a fountain pen with a 1mm nib (this was actually a pen that came with a calligraphy set from Barnes and noble...I know, cringe) But, it is a good pen that writes very well. It came with standard international ink cartridges. I purchased a bottle of Higgins ink labeled "calligraphy," but it said it could be used in fountain pens.(I also purchased a converter) I chose the waterproof pigment-based ink because I wanted a secure ink for writing checks and such, also for journaling so that if I spill water, the ink won't completely bleed off the page. I watched a YouTube video from the goulet pen dude that mentioned that pigment-based inks could clog fountain pens. I possibly have time to change my ink order to a non-waterproof dye-based Higgins ink, but will this be secure? Or I could get the Higgins eternal ink, which is a permanent non-waterproof Carbon writing ink. Please help! Which ink won't mess up my fountain pens? Thank you (I'm only stuck on Higgins because it's the cheapest I've found...feel free to suggest another brand, but stay on the cheap side please)

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Arkanabar

• tonybelding

• KyleKatarn

• webgeckos

Top Posters In This Topic

If you are a FP newbie I would suggest NOT to use any permanent inks unless you understand all the RISKS related to such inks like PERMANENT stains on cloths and other environment, even your skin.

"(bleep) happens" (© Forrest Gump) while normal usage and pen maintenance.

If you still want to use "secure" (FP + inks) I would suggest Platinum Century pen + Platinum Pigment ink in cartridges.

Edited by Padawan

Calligraphy inks are not suitable for fountain pens. They will clog your pen's feed.

Since you bought a converter look into Noodler's Bulletproof Black or Montblanc Permanent Blue (or Black)