Pen For Beginner

Jyoung

Hello, as the title says I am new to fountain pens. I never knew so much went into them. Can anyone recommend a beginner pen? I don't want to spend a whole lot, but I have my eye on the Lamy Al-Star. I have open ears to any recommendations!

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Jyoung

• TheRealMikeDr

• sandy101

• wascallyrabbit

I consider the Lamy Safari and Pilot Metropolitan to be good options for a first fountain pen. Both are well built and durable. The Safari has the advantage of interchangeable nibs which allows you to experiment without having to buy another pen (only the nibs) and its nibs vary from extra-fine to broad and stubs. These nibs are also compatible with all Lamy fountain pens, but the 2000. The Metropolitan doesn't gives you this option as Pilot don't sell spare nibs for this pen specifically, however it's an inexpensive metal pen that it performs very well. It comes with a converter while you must buy it separately for the Safari, so you save some money (~5 dollars) if you intend to use ink form bottles, which gives you more color options to choose from.

If you consider the Safari, take into account that the faceted grip section of these pens are not for everyone. I don't have nay issues with it, but it's a deal breaker for some people. I have both pens and I believe they are pretty good pens for the price, you can't go wrong with any of them.

There are also Chinese pens, like Jinhao, that are fairly good and priced below inexpensive. I had a Jinhao x450 that were pretty nice, however the nib that came with it wasn't great and I replaced it for a Goulet nib. Some are luck to receive a perfectly working nib, but there's always the chance to receive a bad one. You can try one of these as they are really inexpensive, but I'd recommend something trouble free for a starter pen.

P.S.: Everything I wrote about the Safari applies to the Al-star, I just prefer the Safari.