Compared Some Blue Black Inks W/ A Dry And Wet Pen

hellokloh

Hi! This is my first time posting anything about ink... But I sat down a couple days ago and compared all my "blue black" inks and thought I'd share -- 

http://www.raccoonstar.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/snapseed-6.jpeg

This is all written on Kokuyo's binder paper, with the top pen being a Sailor Procolor 500, and the bottom pen being a Pelikan 400NN in Medium. I wanted to compare the inks with both a very dry and a very wet pen. I've noticed that many inks look pretty different at either extreme.

http://www.raccoonstar.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/img_2741.jpeg

I don't really have a favorite, but I do find the Montblanc and Sailor 4B more "teal" than the others -- and the Shin-Kai much more blue.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• hellokloh

• AndyYNWA

• helene20

• Sandy1

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Quite startling the difference the line size can make ... especially so with the Sailor and Kaweco BBs.

---

Kenneth Moyle

Hamilton, Ontario

And, as far as I can tell, not a one of them is an original, iron-gall blue-black that "goes on blue and darkens to black".

Enjoy,

Yours,
Randal

From a person's actions, we may infer attitudes, beliefs, --- and values. We do not know these characteristics outright. The human dichotomies of trust and distrust, honor and duplicity, love and hate --- all depend on internal states we cannot directly experience. Isn't this what adds zest to our life?

And, as far as I can tell, not a one of them is an original, iron-gall blue-black that "goes on blue and darkens to black".

Enjoy,

by "original," do you mean "vintage" (as in a very old bottle or formula)?

Or do you mean, "any blue-black that goes on blue and darkens to black and has iron-gall in it I call 'original'"?

Or something else?

Enjoy,

Yep -- I don't have any iron gall inks yet, but would like to add RK's Salix to this comparison!

Enjoy,