Suggestions For Deep, Vibrant Blue Ink

crescent2

Hi FP experts,

I need suggestions to help me choose a deep jewel blue ink. Shading would be a bonus. I'm still a newbie, but I think I like pens and inks that write on the wet side. I'm looking for something a little out of the ordinary blue.

I have several purples that I love, so I don't want a purplish blue. I have Kon-Peki that I love, so I don't want a tealy blue. I don't want turquoise. I definitely don't want a dull or grayish blue. I want a deep blue, but nothing close to a blue-black. Did I mention I want blue? :P

This ink will most likely be used in my new Platinum 3776 Century pen, M nib. While I don't usually try to match inks to pen colors, I currently don't have any pens inked with blue, other than my precious little white Metro F with Kon-Peki. I would like a deep truer blue to try in this new pen, or perhaps in some of my other pens such as my TWSBI stub nib at times.

I've not filled the new pen with ink yet, but I dipped it in a few blue samples I had on hand tonight. I need to look at the writing samples in daylight, but here are my thoughts tonight. The Montegrappa Blue and Diamine Midnight both look too dark, blue-black perhaps, tonight. Tauki-Yo and P.R. Tropical Blue (Is the name misleading me?) look too teal or turquoise, the best I can tell. Not sure of P.R. Sonic Blue; it doesn't look very vibrant tonight. I used these on Clairefontaine Triomphe paper, a random fair quality notepad, and on a cheap legal tablet. I liked the way the pen felt on all of them.

My new pen, dipped and wiped off, seemed to write with what I'd say is a fairly wet, true M line, perhaps a tiny bit broader than my Pilot Metro M's, but not too much broader than my Cross F nib with Diamine ink. You folks know more about the 3776 Medium nib than I do, I'm sure.