Is A Vacumatic Parker 51 In Aerometric Grey More Rare Than A Nassau Green?

KZ900

There seems to be a few Vacumatic Single Jewels showing up on Ebay and pen sites lately. The are what many would call Aerometric Grey. I have a few of them that I have been holding on to for almost 30 years in a deal I made in trade. I even sent one to a well known Parker 51 expert and he said they are Single Jewels in the Aerometric Grey color.The ones I see on Ebay may actually be the few I sold 15 or 20 years ago. Personally I think they are a color that was going to be produced just before they went to the Aerometric Style and scrapped the idea when the new model came out. Even though the Nassau Green is more valuable it seems a handful of these Aerometric Grey colored ones are out there. How many of you have seen them and do any of you own one?

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• KZ900

• FarmBoy

• pajaro

• kirchh

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The Aero or Navy Grey vacumatic 51's were repaired Parker 51's as a fix for Dove Grey vacumatic 51's when the supply of Dove Grey plastic was exhausted. Parker did the same for Cordovan vacumatic repairs using Burgundy plastic. I've owned a few Navy Grey and Burgundy complete vac filler 51's as well as Navy Grey and Burgundy barrels with blind caps and filler units. I've also seen Parker repaired pens ( owner sent them back to Parker in the 1960's) with a Dove grey hood and a Navy Grey barrel and matching blind cap.

As to rarity, it's hard to say. It is a valid Parker 51 variation in either Navy Grey or Burgundy, as the parts or the repaired pens were produced by Parker.