Retro 51 Tornado Nib Replacement

AlecB

Hello everyone! I'm brand new to the world of fountain pens, and have a couple beginner's questions regarding my new Retro 51 Tornado. It came with a medium nib, which writes nicely, but I'd like to purchase a nib that allows me to vary my line stroke and write more calligraphically and personally. Before I look into flexible or italic nibs, however, I was wondering if my pen can even take replacement nibs; the nib doesn't seem to come apart from the nib assembly/ feed, so even if I knew the correct size to buy I'm not sure if my pen could take it. Do I have to purchase an entire new nib assembly (in which case, where should I look to buy them?) or does the nib disconnect in a way I'm unaware of?

Thank you all,

Alec

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• AlecB

• Hooker56

• kreadtambunga

• atc729

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Welcome to FPN Alec,

I think the reason that you haven't received an answer to your question is because most here aren't familiar with Retro 51. Of all of the vintage and new pens I have, my Retro 51 Lincoln XL is my favorite daily user. Sorry to bore you with the details, but when I got it several years ago, I had the very same questions you do.

After talking with R51 in Richardson, TX. and Brian Gray with Bexley Pens back east, I finally contacted Schmidt nibs in Germany and talked with their marketing dept.

Retro 51 uses a proprietary Schmidt Nib unit. Meaning that the feed and nib are joined into one modular piece. It is nearly impossible to replace the nib without screwing up the whole module. The Module, however, screws out easily (like a Pelikan) and can be replaced. That said, Schmidt makes the units for R51 in Fine, med, and Broad.