Love And Hate - Ebay

Precise

I'm an engineer with a nice shop in my garage. These days my shop time is often spent fixing damaged pens and watches that were described as "mint" or "like new" by ebay sellers. Considering how sellers seem to treasure their ratings I tend to think that they are blind and/or stupid rather than deliberate liars. Why would sellers risk their ratings by deliberately describing damaged items as mint?

It has become a love / hate affair with me. On the one hand I enjoy winning good deals on ebay. It is shopping as sport. And even when that mint pen arrives full of faults I often charge into repairing it, rather than send it back to the seller. Guys like me like fixing things!

But all of this fun has its downsides too. I've acquired more watches and pens than I can possibly use. Thankfully, they don't take up much space. And.... I only like fixing things when the process is going relatively smoothly. But when I'm deep into repairing that $600 Omas that I won for $200 and something goes very, very wrong with the repair I don't like that one bit.

So there it is. Love it or hate it, depending on the moment. I also often wonder how pen lovers who don't have a shop cope with this nonsense.

Best regards,

Alan

Edited by Precise

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Precise

• Manalto

• Chrissy

• Goudy

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I appreciate your experienced views.

As an Ebayer for above 15 years I need to suggest that you keep on trying!

You obviously have the talent to correct any misgivings.

"The further a society drifts from truth, the more it will hate those who speak it."  - Selwyn Duke    

I think being able to fix a faulty item has its merits and can be very rewarding, there are many people who can not.

I have my concerns about sellers who mislead buyers by giving descriptions that are clearly wrong and continue to do so because they are allowed to get away with it.