Platinum Converter Malfunctions?

ENewton

Hello.

Sometime last spring I bought a Platinum Balance pen, which came equipped with a converter. I used the pen for a few months with Iroshizuku Kujaku ink, until one day the converter just stopped working, in the sense that the mechanism would no longer move down and up. Surprised, because I have been using fountain pens for over twenty years and have never had a converter fail before, I went to my local brick and mortar pen shop and asked whether defects with Platinum converters are common. The salesperson said no and sold me a replacement.

Assuming that my bad experience had been a fluke, I installed the new converter and inked up the pen with R & K Scabiosa. (Yes, I had flushed it well beforehand.) For another few months, I wrote with the pen on a daily basis. Then I emptied and flushed it because I knew I would be traveling, and I didn't want to leave the pen inked in my absence.

It was just a few minutes ago that I brought out the pen, with the intent to fill it with Scabiosa again. To my surprise, the mechanism would not move up and down as expected, and then suddenly the converter literally came apart in my hand.

Is it common to have problems like this with the converter for the Platinum Balance?

I might have suspected a connection with the use of an iron gall ink, except that I'd been using only Kujaku when the first converter failed.

I await your wisdom.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jde

• jar

• ENewton

• rutherfordr

Top Posters In This Topic

I suspect you lost the lubrication of your converter the good thing is that these converters are easily dismantled so should you need to lubricate the parts

if your a long time user then I suspect that you have silicone grease in your house

and as long as nothing really broke (a broken piston thread)

Edited by Algester

Hi there. I've never encountered any problem with them, and I have a few. Perhaps it's just bad luck.