Jump to content

The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies






Photo

Fountain Pen Database


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#21 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,097 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 14 November 2014 - 11:42

Hi Brad,

 

From what I understand you should be able to copy the entire set to a USB stick, from wherever you copied it to originally, and even run it from the USB stick.

 

HTH, warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


Sponsored Content

#22 ScienceChick

ScienceChick

    Talk Nerdy To Me

  • FPN Supporter - Rhodium

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,264 posts
  • Location:North of Dallas, TX
  • Flag:

Posted 14 November 2014 - 12:18

I run mine from a thumb drive with no problems.


 photo 9a3c4b09-5684-4070-874c-d3e7313947e7.pngLife is too short to use crappy pens.  -carlos.q


#23 Runnin_Ute

Runnin_Ute

    Grandpa T's desk

  • FPN Supporter - Rhodium

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,218 posts
  • Location:Sandy, Utah - Elevation 4504'
  • Flag:

Posted 14 November 2014 - 14:46

Thanks!

Brad

 

"Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind" - Rudyard Kipling

"None of us can have as many virtues as the fountain-pen, or half its cussedness; but we can try." - Mark Twain

LetterExchange_sm.pngfpn_1424623518__super_pinks-bottle%20res


#24 asian ink brush

asian ink brush

    asian ink brush

  • Member - Silver

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts

Posted 14 November 2014 - 20:53

Thank you jonro and FPN admin and team! :)



#25 77kath

77kath

    Rare

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 14 January 2015 - 15:31

I have entered 28 pens and wanted to print.  However, the program crashes every time.  My System Preferences (Mac OS X Yosemite) are set as above.  I really like this inventory and sure don't want to reinvent it on Excel or something, but it has to print.  Help?  Thanks!



#26 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,097 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 14 January 2015 - 20:14

I think we may have to contact jonro to get an answer here. I'll see what I can do.

Warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#27 FOUR X FOUR

FOUR X FOUR

    A BEAUTIFUL MIND

  • Premium - Diamond

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Flag:

Posted 25 July 2015 - 03:49

She is a Rhodesian Ridgeback. Sorry that my response is so slow in coming. She passed away about three years ago and was a great companion. They are, however, not a dog for all people.


My shrink has a Rodesian ridgeback. That ridge of hair on his back makes him look mean

#28 WriteAway

WriteAway

    Extremely Rare

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts

Posted 25 October 2015 - 00:02

My database will not load or run on my new Dell Windows 10 PC after several years operating perfectly under Windows Vista. . Any one else having this issue?

 

Any potential workarounds or program updates in the works?



#29 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,097 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 25 October 2015 - 00:45

I could ask, but I doubt it very much, I am afraid.

 

Warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#30 WriteAway

WriteAway

    Extremely Rare

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts

Posted 29 October 2015 - 00:59

I could ask, but I doubt it very much, I am afraid.

 

Warm regards, Wim

Thanks. I don't know if it's Microsoft's issue or mine. It loaded and worked properly one time, I added information and saved it. Now it will not open again. Frustrating. I may have to fix my old machine and use it with Vista as before. Back to my backup plan....

Have a great day!

Hubert

WriteAway



#31 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,097 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 29 October 2015 - 02:17

It is built with an old version of the development environment it was created in, which likely is no longer compatible with Windows 8.0 and up.

 

Warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#32 magicspeller

magicspeller

    Near Mint

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 25 February 2016 - 03:57

My database will not load or run on my new Dell Windows 10 PC after several years operating perfectly under Windows Vista. . Any one else having this issue?

 

Any potential workarounds or program updates in the works?

 

There have been several Windows updates since you posted, but I installed it a month ago and it's working fine for me under Windows 10.



#33 AndyKeir

AndyKeir

    Anachronistic Antipodean

  • FPN Donor - Iridium

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Location:Forster, NSW, Australia
  • Flag:

Posted 25 February 2016 - 04:54

I get the same issue on my MacBook Pro under El Capitan. If I try to print, the program simply crashes.


Andy sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled ...

(With apologies to Andrew Barton "Banjo" Paterson)


#34 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,097 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 25 February 2016 - 12:59

The current version is rather old, so I guess that is to be expected.

 

I have been in contact with the developer. The things is that he would have to charge for it now, it is much more work than it ever was to get it updated, and keep it up to date.

We have not worked out a proper solution yet.

 

Warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#35 AndyKeir

AndyKeir

    Anachronistic Antipodean

  • FPN Donor - Iridium

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Location:Forster, NSW, Australia
  • Flag:

Posted 26 February 2016 - 01:24

It is built with an old version of the development environment it was created in, which likely is no longer compatible with Windows 8.0 and up.

 

Warm regards, Wim

 

Many thanks for following up.

I believe the development environment was FileMaker Pro and I have FileMaker Pro Advanced 13 on my MacBook Pro so I have spent a few hours this morning creating my own simple database.
It lacks many of the features of jonro's excellent software but is quite adequate for my needs ... and at least now I can print! :)


Andy sang as he watched and waited 'til his billy boiled ...

(With apologies to Andrew Barton "Banjo" Paterson)


#36 FOUR X FOUR

FOUR X FOUR

    A BEAUTIFUL MIND

  • Premium - Diamond

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Flag:

Posted 02 March 2016 - 18:38

.






Sponsored Content




|