Pilot Metropolitan Leak Question

jazztrumpet5

Hi guys - I'm fairly new to fountain pens, and one of my purchases for EDC is a Pilot Metropolitan. After using the filled cartridge that came with the pen, I was excited to use some Noodler's with the refill, but ever since I've been having problems.

Firstly, I've been getting leakage through the non-functional section divider on the pen (attached photo). Also, I'm not sure if this is supposed to be the case, but when I shake the pen (softly or firmly), I can hear the cartridge bouncing around inside - it never "locked" into place, which, I don't know if it's supposed to or not.

I couldn't find any answers elsewhere - I don't know if I have a faulty pen, or if I'm just not putting it together correctly. Thanks for your help!

post-124782-0-14228100-1440762829_thumb.jpg

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• weltyj

• jazztrumpet5

• Oldparkerguy

• Martinsroom

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If the refilled cartridge was did not seat securely (and it will feel firm when it seats), then you most likely have ink slopping around the pen body.

You need to take it apart -- OVER A SINK -- expect copious amounts of ink to come out as you unscrew it.Try holding it nib up when you unscrew it, that may help control the flood ;-)

After you've cleaned up the mess, and refilling the cartridge with fresh ink, try to seat it again.

I recommend using a converter, it will be far easier in the long run.

Good luck. The metro is a great pen!

Edited by weltyj

If you recover and cleanup everything as weltj suggests you should have no problems. A converter is good too but I have reused an old washed out empty cartridge over and over for maybe 25 years in an old Parker 45, refilling it with a 10 ml syringe. I change colors that way too after a good rinse out and flushing. No leaks. YMMV.

The Metros ARE great! That's my pants pocket pen for meetings.

Best wishes, Dana