Platinum 3776 Or Lamy 2000

christian1122

i am a student and i want to buy a new pen to take notes. the Platinum 3776 and Lamy 2000 are both great pens that pretty much everyone likes. but i was wondering which one would be better for me? i like the hooded nib because in between taking notes the nibs sometimes dries out so i wouldn't have that with the lamy 2000, but i heard that the Platinum 3776 is a little smoother.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Brian C

• Sergio 46

• christian1122

• PAKMAN

Both are excellent pens, your decision should be on which one you like better for your own reasons.

I have tried the Platinum pens at shops, didn't buy one. But they wrote very well.

I have a Lamy 2000 Broad that I converted to an Italic Fine. It is one of my best note-taking pens, keep it filled with Noodler's Black. Always ready to go, always starts easily and writes well.

I would choose the Lamy over the Platinum. But I know of many writers that would choose the Platinum. So, sorry, no help for selection. Don't think you will go wrong with either one.

Enjoy,

Yours,
Randal

From a person's actions, we may infer attitudes, beliefs, --- and values. We do not know these characteristics outright. The human dichotomies of trust and distrust, honor and duplicity, love and hate --- all depend on internal states we cannot directly experience. Isn't this what adds zest to our life?

If you need a very fine nib, then go with the Platinum. A Platinum F, for example, produces a line much finer than a Lamy EF. Otherwise, I would go with the Lamy. I have both and if I could only keep one it would be the Lamy 2k, hands down.

I have and love both. The 2000 holds more ink and is easier to cap and upcap for note taking in my opinion.

PAKMAN

minibanner.gif                                    Vanness-world-final.png.c1b120b90855ce70a8fd70dd342ebc00.png

My Favorite Pen Restorer                                             My Favorite Pen Store