Does Anyone Here Use Mechanical Keyboards?

Keyless Works

If yes what model and why?

I have been using an Apple Wireless Keyboard for a couple of years now and I am starting to get bored of it. I want to go back to a mechanical keyboard. Prior to that I used a keyboard with Cherry Red switches and a modern production IBM Model M keyboard (by Unicomp).

I am considering a Tactile Pro Mini which uses replicas of the ALPS switches used on the Apple Extended keyboard from the early 90s as well as the Happy Hacking Professional 2 from Fujitsu which uses Topre switches.

Moderator note: I realize this may be pushing the limits of this subsection so please move the thread to chatter if not appropriate.

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Keyless Works

• tonybelding

• amberleadavis

• VinnyCordeiro

I was a huge fan of the Apple extended, and especially disappointed that it didn't carry over with the USB transition. Haven't used a mechanical since, but would like to again.

Qui me amat, amat et canem meum

I just bought a Ducky Mini with Cherry Blue. I have a MacBook Pro and Ducky Mini, imho, fits very well with it.

Made a post on Reddit (https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/comments/3hn8s3/my_first_mk_lets_hope_this_addiction_isnt_as_bad/)

Also check this post (https://www.reddit.com/r/fountainpens/comments/3hhzfq/my_first_fountain_pens_lets_hope_this_addiction/)

I'm using a Das Keyboard Pro 4 with Cherry Browns. Actually, I bought two: one for home and one for work. Wonderful keyboard with a great feel. It is a bit pricier than some other ones out there, though.

I use the Microsoft Ergo keyboard.

But I would love to use the original IBM AT keyboard. It has a great feel.

The other keyboard is the keyboard on the HP Vectra, unfortunately, I think the connector is an HP only connector, so not usable.

I have not found any other keyboard that my fingers really like.