Three Parker Questions From A Noob.

Redleg05

Hi, clueless newbie here. I have three Parkers, all in "as found" condition, that I have questions about.

The first question: The first two attached photos are for a 51 I found. This 51 is missing its jewel. It's a later Aerometric (pump 4x). Any suggestions on finding a repro or original jewel?

The next two photos are of another 51, considerably shorter than the one above. Its cap seems too big proportionally to the body compared to the one above, but the cap fits snugly. It's bigger around than the first one (the first one's cap will not fit). It has a blind cap and a plastic Vacumatic filler. I've read that caps in the wild are frequently exchanged. Is this the correct cap for this pen? (If so, I must say it's one of the ugliest Parkers I've seen...) :)

Finally, there is this orange Duofold. The cap, as the photos show, has a large chip. It screws on tightly. Are there people who repair these, or does this just make a good parts pen for other Duofolds? That would be a shame, as it's in otherwise pretty good shape, but it was this way when I got it, so I knew that could be a possibility.

I would appreciate any advice or suggestions.

Thank you!

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Redleg05

• Flounder

• mitto

• Florida Blue

Original 51 jewels are available but are disproportionally expensive compared to a reproduction jewel. BUT both are generally available though it might be easier to purchase a complete cap than just a jewel.

Second pen is likely a Demi Vac 51. These are the same diameter as a standard size 51 but shorter. There is a proper Demi cap that is slightly shorter than a standard vac 51 cap. When Parker switched to the Aero filler the Demi sized pen got smaller in diameter.