Red Sheaffer Admiral?

Redleg05

Hi,

I'm new to the hobby. I just bought two Sheaffer Admiral pens. (I know they are because one appears to be new and says "Admiral" and $10.00" on the barrel.)

In researching the color, it doesn't appear they made one in this color, a bright red. I found this on another part of FPN:

"Sheaffer Snorkel Admiral 1952-1959 NO dot
Admiral - Open 14 karat gold nib, plastic cap and barrel, gold-filled clip stamped "SHEAFFER'S", and 1/4" wide gold-filled cap band. Colors produced were black, burgundy, pastel gray, pastel blue (or aqua), pastel green, buckskin tan, vermilion (a tangerine), and sage green. The Snorkel Admiral pen sold for US $10.00 in 1957."

I've attached some photos, and any help would be much appreciated. I hope I didn't get ripped off.

Thank you!

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Redleg05

• Pincel

• Florida Blue

• kirchh

It's Vermilion (note spelling).

-Daniel

"The greatest mental derangement is to believe things because we want them to be true, not because we observe that they are in effect." --Jacques-Bénigne Bossuet

Daniel Kirchheimer
Specialty Pen Restoration
Authorized Sheaffer/Parker/Waterman Vintage Repair Center
Purveyor of the iCroScope digital loupe

Thank you. I searched around some places like ebay and didn't see any, so that's why I got concerned that I'd made a mistake buying them.

Thank you. I searched around some places like ebay and didn't see any, so that's why I got concerned that I'd made a mistake buying them.

Consider yourself very lucky. The Vermilion is one of the most sought Snorkel colours.

fpn_1434850097__cocursive.jpg

Consider yourself very lucky. The Vermilion is one of the most sought Snorkel colours.

+1 Indeed!

You did very well with you purchase. Your eBay search probably didn't yield much because Vermilion Snorkels were not made in large numbers.