Improving Handwriting Speed, For High School Students

NinjaWriter

Hello!

I am a student in year 10. My senior years are coming up, and I have had a huge problem with my handwriting speed. So basically, I was researching around for handwriting speed tips or how to write faster or ANYTHING that could help me improve at all and I found that people like Nonsensical can write 'the quick brown fox jumped swiftly over the lazy dog' in 10 - 12 seconds, with very neat and legible writing .

All I can write at the moment is at max 24 - 27 words per minute under exam conditions. But to be honest, its not good enough at all. My handwriting is legible, and I've been holding the pen correctly since primary school but I simply cannot write fast enough to finish my exam papers or take down notes in class. We don't use fountain pens in school, only ballpoint pens and that is what I want to stick to at the moment, but I wanted to hit 40 -50 words. When I try to write as fast as I can for 1 minute periods, I can hit 30 words but then my wrist gets all cramped up when I try to maintain it. I think my writing motion may be incorrect as well. Does anyone have any tips, handwriting suggestions or links to other places where I can improve? I'm not really interested in adapting any shorthand techniques or dropping the 'e' while writing because I need to be able to write in English exams with my writing and I can't be accidentally leaving out an 'e' here and there or writing in a language that my teachers cannot understand. I do have till the end of the year to try practice and improve before it will start heavily impacting my grades.

And one more thing, I don't mind writing in cursive or print, I'm happy to learn any as long as they will be effective and fast in exams

Please help!

Thank you :)

Edited by NinjaWriter

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• NinjaWriter

• ac12

• Brianm_14

• Randal6393