How Do You Dispose Of Bottles Of Ink?

Hank138

Hello. I am very new to the FPN so forgive me if this is not the right place to raise my question. If the question is already answered elsewhere, please direct me to that place. Thank you.

My question: how do you dispose of bottles of ink?

I have one nearly full bottle I bought some years ago. I didn't like the color at the first and it has been cluttering my ink drawer for a long time. I also have two bottles of ink that seem to have lost the ability to dry. I can write a whole page and the top of the page will still be wet and will smear if touched. These inks used to dry normally (I think) but at this point they are unusable, (I haven't been able to locate any store that still sells blotting paper.) So, I have two bottles of ink about 1/3 full that I would like to get rid of. Also a friend who gave me a nice old fountain pen also gave me two bottles of ink that are at least 20 years old. I certainly don't want to try to use ink that is so old. So that makes five bottle of ink to dispose of, and several more to come as well as I am close to using up a couple of other bottles.

I know that I can just throw the bottles in the trash, but that doesn't seem very ecological. I would recycle the glass, but I doubt that it's a good idea to pour ink down the drain. Or is it? Are inks toxic liquids?

Now that I think of it, I suppose I really have two questions: What is the proper way to dispose of bottles of ink? and How do you actually dispose of bottles of ink?

Thanks for any thoughts you have.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Sailor Kenshin

• amberleadavis

• WaskiSquirrel

• Brianm_14

Generally, fountain pen inks are not toxic. I would pour the ink down the drain, or onto the ground, over an ant hill (give the little guys some color in their lives). Save the bottles for future ink use.

Auf freiem Grund mit freiem Volke stehn.
Zum Augenblicke dürft ich sagen: