Do You Guys Like Exotic Materials? I'm Making Some Neat Stuff ... But There Is Still A Lot To Be Done. Check Out My Progress So Far.

TactileTurn

Here is a gallery of the grips I currently have made:

http://imgur.com/a/ceCO6

I should probably go introduce myself in the introductions area, but I am Will Hodges. I'm the designer and machinist at Tactile Turn. Some of you probably know my click pens. I've been working on and off on a fountain pen for almost two years. The last few months I've been keeping my business going while doing a ton of research on materials and processes to make everything I do the best way possible. It's taken me so long (and plenty of bugging Ed Jelley) because I know fountain pen users won't like just anything. I've looked at every possible way to do these and how other people make theirs. By the time these are done I think most of you will like something I am making.

I absolutely love the designer Deiter Rams. His ethos "less, but better" is paramount in my designs. If it doesn't add functionality it isn't necessary. I don't add things to design because I can, but because they will aid in functionality. That said, I don't have any design degrees or engineering letters after my name - I just study what works and try to improve where I can. Amazing materials and simple design made to absolute precision speak the volumes I hope you ladies and gentlemen appreciate.

I'm still working on bodies today and I hope to have caps sorted out next week. These parts are all CNC machined to absolute perfection and precision. They will use Bock #6 nibs and come with international converters. There are a few details I can't quite reveal yet, including price as I haven't quite worked those out yet. These will be on Kickstarter when I am done, but I hope you guys are patient as I am taking my time on these. This is not a sales post, but I hope to get some of you interested in what I am making.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply