The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Mabie Todd Swan 2

mabie todd

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 jaredvdm

jaredvdm

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 July 2015 - 14:29

Hi All,

Newbie here. I am a hobby typographer with a love for all writing instruments, but mostly the pen we all congregate for. 

I inherited a few pens from my late grandmother. A cheap looking Hifra fountain, Tropen Scholar, Wahl Eversharp and a Mabie Todd Swan 2. The Swan is my, as it writes beautifully and looks like it's seen a lot.

First thing is, I have no idea how to date the pen, and the second is, it's missing it's original lid/cap. It's such a beautiful pen and I would like to know how I would be able to acquire one and how I would date it. Is anyone able to help?

Thanks in advance,

Jared

Sponsored Content

#2 terim

terim

Antique

• Premium - Ruby

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 27 July 2015 - 14:36

You'll need to start by posting a few photos .... You're identifying it as #2 based on the nib? Hard rubber? Eye dropper or lever filler?
Teri Morris, PEYTON STREET PENS

Visit the Peyton Street Pens web site.

Instagram for Peyton Street Pens
We list new pens on the web site daily ....here's a link to the very latest additions.

#3 jaredvdm

jaredvdm

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 July 2015 - 14:46

Hi Terim,

It's hard rubber for sure. Lever filler. Made in England. I will post pics later, as the pen is at home. 

Thanks

#4 Cob

Cob

Antique

• Member - Gold

• 1,747 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 27 July 2015 - 15:29

Yes let's see a picture or three; and maybe we can advise and find a cap for you.

Cob

fpn_1428963683__6s.jpg “The pen of the British Empire” fpn_1423349537__swan_sign_is.jpg

#5 jaredvdm

jaredvdm