Montblanc Meisterstuck 12 - Piston Mechanism (Yes I'm A Newbie)

LySteele

I've just won an eBay auction for a Montblanc Meisterstuck 12. The pen has a couple of cosmetic issues, which do not trouble me. What may be a problem (as a newbie, I do not know) is the seller's comment that "The piston mechanism however needs to be looked after. With some care it still works, but it tends to 'skip a beat' when filling."

So are there replacement piston mechanisms? And if yes, should only a professional do the replacement/repair? By that I mean ship the pen to the USA Montblanc facility and pay the $80+ (?) to get the repair done?

Thank you for any advice you can offer.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1960s-MONTBLANC-MEISTERSTUCK-12-FOUNTAIN-PEN-GREY-GT-18K-EXTRA-FINE-NIB-/141711283916

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• LySteele

• jar

• JLS1

• catbert

Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell. I have really doubt MB has any parts for a 12, but they are really nice pens and pretty tough. The crack in the turning knob is a bigger worry for me. I suggest you contact the good folk at penboard.de and fountainpen.de and get them to fix the poor thing up.

You've received some good advice already, but what I would add is that it sounds like the problem is with the piston rod, not the seal. This is a lower issue for me, as you could probably learn how to work around the piston knob, but not holding ink due to a shot seal is a far messier problem...literally!

With this broken tuning knob it is not possible to fill the pen proper, it will overwind all the time you use too much force. Sure it is possible to fill the pen with ink, but this fault is more then a cosmetic fault.

kind regards

Max

HANDMADE PENS : www.astoriapen.hamburg ; REPAIRSERVICE : www.maxpens.de ; by MONTBLANC recommended repair service for antique pens

• 2 weeks later...

Hello,