Pen Storage

Classics

Hello Everyone: I have a quick question regarding pen storage.

I am a newbie in the fountain pen world and wondering what is the best way to store fountain pens.

Upright or lying down?

I need to get a pen case for my new fountain pens and don't want to buy something that goes against pen edict.

Sincerely,

Mr. Classics

"Churn the Butter"

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Classics

• roberto v

• sam

• daveg

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

i think if the pen is devoid of ink...then it doesnt really matter...

but if the pen is inked, then upright would be best imo.

Edited by sam

Upright reduces chances for a clog. On the side can solve hard starting/dry out issues with many pens. I try not to leave pens on the side if they're going to sit for weeks, but if I'm going to use it in hours or the next day, then I tend to prefer on the side.

(There's a poll about this somewhere wink.gif)

Store it empty and cleaned out. Only exception might be some older pens with certain sacs, but I'll leave that to others to comment on.

Otherwise, it makes no difference in what position you store them.

Rather than spending money on a cabinet or box, you might consider converting a cigar box for this purpose. There's a thread about this in the Paraphrenalia forum. It takes all of 35 minutes and you'll save your money for pens!

Bob

I wonder if it just depends upon the pen and/or ink, as well as the time?

I have a Parker 51 vacumatic with a fine nib that is a rather dry starter if I leave it stored standing up for about a week. However, if I leave it laying down for several weeks, it writes immediately upon use--no leakage problems.