Id This Waterman Help

penswordnoassemblyrequired

I'm a complete newbie--I know Lady Patricia and that's it.

I got this pen yesterday and it would be nice to know a little more about it.

It has a semi-flex nib with a round breather hole, looks like below Ideal it says 4-K

Watermans on the barrel. Watermans on the clip.

It was beautiful on ebay and gorgeous in real life.

Very good price, AFAIC.

post-111359-0-83631600-1435406539_thumb.jpg

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• penswordnoassemblyrequired

• pen lady

• Ernst Bitterman

• Eccles

Others will chime in if I'm wrong, but I think it is a 1940's Dauntless, I believe the similar Stalwart model had double cap bands. The marking on the nib is most likely 14 Kt and there may be a 2 or 2A way down low where the nib goes into the section, that's the nib size. The colour is called Ivory Pearl. Often, the barrels in this colour pen have ambered, yours hasn't, but I would watch out for the lever, it shouldn't be sticking up from the lever slot like that. Nice pen though, well done. What's the sac like?

Dauntless! Thank you! When I googled I found the Stalwart.

The lever is sticking out only because I didn't push it back in fully. It's my first lever fill and it was a little tight so I didn't want to push it in when I wasn't sure if I'd need to refill soon.

The sac is new and black and it probably should be the clear or whatever the light ones are, right?

It's been...I don't know if restored is the right word but at least brought up to speed. There's a small hairline crack at the top of the cap and the finial (?) is missing. It's not perfect but it is beautiful.

For $52 I got a deal.

Thank you so much for the information.

Going by pg 103 of "Waterman Past & Present...." (Davis & Lehrer) it's a Stalwart. There seem to be 3 or 4 versions.

I'm finding this book quite annoying for it's lack of detail... nothing about the colours or the nibs, and no pics with the caps off.