Romillo Sil #9

Houston

I’ve been meaning to write a review of the Romillopens Sil #9 for a long time.

Why haven’t I? Well, partially because I've never written any pen review before, and am a little intimidated by the high standard set by many on this board. But, more than that, I'm intimidated by the task of writing about this particular pen. In the words of my favourite book review, “I find myself nervous…about failing the work, inadequately displaying its brilliance.”

If you like your pen reviews to attempt dispassionate objectivity, I entreat you to move along. There’s nothing satisfying for you to read here. This one may even offend you.

To provide context, to set up why I think the Sil, and perhaps Romillo pens in general, are so special, I probably need to mention what I was looking for when I bought it.

I don’t call myself a collector. I think it’s more accurate to say I have a lot of pens. Pens are a hobby, sure. Finding pens that delight me is a pleasure in which I love to indulge. But, I don’t get excited about having every colour of something, or completing a set, or acquiring a rare example of some pen or another with pristine imprints. I think all that’s great, and I love cooing over the collections of folks who do that. But that’s not what I do. I see a pen I like, and I buy it. And, over time, that’s meant that I have a lot of pens — depending on your standard.

And while I don’t call myself a collector, I do call myself a writer. Not necessarily a good writer, mind you, but the point is that my pens aren’t for show. The point of my pens is to write. The point of my best pens is to write beautifully.

So, when I set out a while back — last year, in fact — to find an epic “reward myself” pen, I didn’t have a target in mind. There was no holy grail. But I was looking for something that wasn’t mass-produced “limited edition” desk jewellery. I was looking for something that would be an epitomic manifestation of the writer’s tool.