Hp Laserjet 24Lbs Vs. Rhodia Vs. Sugarcane?

merrycitrine

Hello everyone,

I just bought my first ream of HP laserjet 24lbs. It's great, but gives me a slight bit of tooth with fine/medium pens. I am comparing this to paper I had in an old notebook which was super smooth, but I don't know the make of.

As a Math student I use a lot of paper, for note-taking, practicing work etc. Hence, I have never bought Rhodia paper, due to how expensive it can be, and how quickly I would go through it. Having never used it, I wanted to ask you what you find is the difference between the HP and the Rhodia. Does the HP not allow much sheening, is it rougher, etc. ? How different is the feel and quality?

Also, I found at staples, a ream of 80% Sugarcane paper. I am wondering if I should get this. Does it perform even better than the HP 24lbs?

Again, the HP paper is great! I am being a bit nitpicky here as I love gliding my pen on paper without feeling it at all.

Thanks!

Edited by merrycitrine

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• merrycitrine

• frogbaby

• AAAndrew

• jmccarty3

I bought a ream and I do like it but I also bought a 100 pages of Tomoe River at the same time and it is hard to want to write on anything else once you start using the Tomoe.

The sugarcane copy paper and the Staples sugarcane notebooks are both pretty good.

Haven't tried the HP 24 so I can't compare the two papers.

Edited by frogbaby

I use the HP Premium Laser Jet which is 30lb. and it's smooth as can be. I've not had the pleasure of trying the Tomoe River, but it's at least as smooth as Rhodia. And smoother than the sugar cane paper. Yet doesn't feel too glassy, which can make it difficult to write on.

“When the historians of education do equal and exact justice to all who have contributed toward educational progress, they will devote several pages to those revolutionists who invented steel pens and blackboards.” V.T. Thayer, 1928

Check out my Steel Pen Blog