140 Nib

colormyalphabet

Hey I recently received a 140 and noticed the nib is bent down a pretty good amount (shown below my m400). This is my second 140 and the first one didn't have a nib like that BUT I have seen photos of them like this before. Writes great though. Is this normal or not, should I make it straight?

http://i62.tinypic.com/dvrn1d.jpg

Edited by mynamesricky

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• colormyalphabet

• 2n7000

• fly_us

I am not an expert, but it doesn't look damaged to me. If it writes well, I would leave it unchanged.

Hi,

That curvature is very common, you may find it also in the 400 range pens of that era with "cheveron" nibs.

If it writes beautifully, as 140 nibs usually do, I'd say there is nothing wrong with it.

Enjoy.

Regards

I have had similar appearing nibs on some of my pens. If it writes well, I wouldn't worry about it. I don't see any overt indication of damage to the nib.

PELIKAN - Too many birds in the flock to count. My pen chest has proven to be a most fertile breeding ground.

fpn_1508261203__fpn_logo_300x150.jpg

THE PELIKAN'S PERCH - A growing reference site for all things Pelikan

If it bothers you, take a paper regular school notebook, place the nib just on it, feed just off and press gently a couple of times.

The key is gently. The paper pad is soft, and high enough up that you don't bang the feed.

I had a Vac with much more bend than yours that I straightened that way.

In reference to P. T. Barnum; to advise for free is foolish, ........busybodies are ill liked by both factions.

The cheapest lessons are from those who learned expensive lessons. Ignorance is best for learning expensive lessons.

What do you mean? Just flex the nib?

Yes, place it on the edge of a spiral notebook so the tines are on it the feed not, , hold it relatively flat and press down gently a few times. Hold it there for a second or so.