Sailor 1911M Vs Parker 51

Lucapens

30 members have voted

1. 1. Parker 51 or Sailor 1911M?

• Parker 51
    • Sailor 1911M

Hi, All. I'm interested in acquiring one of these pens. Which one should I buy? I'm a middle school student who does a lot of writing. I already have the Lamy 2000 and the Pilot Vanishing Point. If you've had experience with these pens, please share your thoughts.

Thanks,

Luca

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• zaddick

• J85909266

• ironwampa

• fly_us

Top Posters In This Topic

I have all 4 pens. There is no way one can compare the Parker 51 and the Sailor 1911. Both are different pens, yet both are very nice, reliable pens. I say, save up, and buy both the Parker 51 and the Sailor 1911 pen. Best of luck!!!:)

LoL wow, am I the only one that voted for a Parker 51?

I've owned both (1911M with a Zoom Nib, and a Parker 51 Vacumatic in Cordovan Brown, 1/10 14K Gold Filled Cap, and a 14K wet Fine nib).

I generally lean towards restored vintage (or self restored if I can), of which in this case an Aerometric Parker 51 restored is going to probably cost half the price of the Sailor 1911M, look a bit less auspicious, and pretty much built like a tank. Also the flow pretty much never dries out with the fully hooded nib. I'm not really big on fully hooded nibs (even though I also own a Lamy 2000), and I prefer the Parker 45 over the Parker 51, but of the two I'd have to go with the Parker 51 in either aerometric (around $50-60 ish, sometimes less) or the Vacumatic (about 20-40 more depending).

You could get both :D but for me, I'd go the 51 of the two, just make sure you get one 'restored' and not just in the wild needing work.

I say 1911. It's a timeless design, sailor nibs are very highly regarded, and it's new.

Fountain pens forever and forever a hundred years fountain pens, all day long forever, forever a hundred times, over and over Fountain Pen Network Adventures dot com!

- Joe