On Modern Pelikans - The Pelikan M805 Blue/black

georg84

As you might see from my profile, I'm new to the FPN (as an active writer) and this is my first review. Usually, I'm not a writer of reviews but in this special case I felt the need to drop in my two cents.

A sentence or two about me so that you know where I stand fountain pen wise - I have always written mostly with fountain pens and over the last couple of years I have started to build a small collection, mostly because I find fountain pens quite enjoyable and utterly fascinating. They tick something off in my engineering brain. I have and do enjoy quite a range of pens, from the 10 - 20 euro Lamy safaris and al-stars, pilot metropolitans to the more expensive Lamy 2000s and Montblancs. I do not prefer a specific brand and tend to like nibs that are on the finer side as they suit my handwriting more.

As I perceive it, there is much talk lately in the fountain pen world about Pelikan pens, especially with the release of the M805 Stresemann. I want two review its (somewhat) older brother, the M805 blue/black striped model with rhodium trim. I find this color perfect, much ore pleasing than the grey Stresemann and with the silver clip and bands, even better than the regular M800s.

I ordered this pen from Amazon, simply because they had it at a steep discount at around 280 euros. The pen was brand new and the order was fulfilled by amazon directly. I ordered the pen with an M nib with the intention to possibly change it later to an F or EF, depending on my impressions. My pen came with an single tone, rhodium plated nib instead of the advertised bicolor nib, I do not know why. Personally I would have liked a two tone nib more.