Calling All College Students Using Fountain Pens!

kidneychris

Hey all you college kids like me who use the fountain to take notes/general writing.

Decided to see how many of us are on the forum. I apologize if theres already a topic like this one, I couldn't find one! Anyway.

Lets give each other a picture of where, how, and when we use our pens.

I am an American Student but would be totally open to hearing about students studying in other countries and their experience.

Heres some loose guidelines to start the discussion.

1. Age(if desired), The school you go to, Etc...

2.When did you start using pens?

3. How do you use them?

4. The pens in your collection...

5. Whats the general response of others(peers)?

6. Why use a fountain pen?

Cheers

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kidneychris

• spezialemic

• vPro

• meretricious

1. 20, Pasadena City College, Nutritional Science.

2. Late 2014

3. Notes, letters(yes i still send those), doodling.

4. Lamy Safari, Platinum 3776, Twsbi 580

5. People think im more classy or intelligent and or old fashioned. It doesn't bother me at all, just keep on writing regardless.

6. I like fountain pens because it forces me to really focus on what im writing especially when I'm taking notes. I also enjoy the character that different pens and inks give the writer.

22, University of Connecticut, Pre pharmacy

Fall 2013

Primarily note taking. I probably write about 15-20 pages of notes a day.

Lamy safari [2], lamy al star, lamy 2000, parker 45, kaweco ac sport, 1920s ring top flex pen, 1930s Schaeffer balance, pilot vp, dollar piston filler [2], nemosine singularity ED, Sailor 1 911

No one else seems to really notice. Only once did someone say, wow is that a real ink pen?

I use fountain pens because it makes me enjoy writing. I spend most of my day handwriting notes and fountain pens make that time more fun.

http://i.imgur.com/JkyEiJW.png

1. 29, Skyline College, Auto Tech