Sailor 1911 Large Realo - Dry Writing

eranre

Hey,

I'm rather new to the FP world, and this is my first post in this magnificent community.

I own a Montblanc Meistersturck classic, with a Fine nib that I've been using for the past year and a half.

I never loved it, but I felt that it was ok for the time being.

For the last few weeks I've made some research and found about the Sailor 1911 and their buttery nibs. As much as I had gotten myself reading more and more about this pen I felt that I must get one.

Finally after a few days of I bought a Realo version of the 1911 Large with a Medium nib from a Japanese seller through EBAY (He really had a very good price and a 100% happy customers).

Today, My pen arrived, and I immediately went with it to my desk and inked it full (with my Montblanc Mystery black ink).

I was disappointed. It was writing very very dry, making the ink look grayish and non saturated. On top of that it was even skipping a bit.

My question to you is - can it be the ink? (the seller has suggested that it might be the problem), May it be the nib that is not functioning well? (took a look at it and it looks very aligned, also the nib was not scratchy at all even without the ink - and I do have the Montblanc to compare)

Thank you very much for your help,

Eran

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• marcomillions

• JLS1

• Jeff_H

• Opus105

Yes it might be the ink. No experience with either Sailor pens or MB inks. Do you have something like Waterman Serenity/Florida Blue? It is considered a well behaved fairly wet ink. Also did you flush the pen good before inking up? I will do that on all new pens to me-vintage or modern.

Brad

"Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind" - Rudyard Kipling
"None of us can have as many virtues as the fountain-pen, or half its cussedness; but we can try." - Mark Twain