How Do You Play With Your New Inks?

fountainpenlady

Recently, I kind of went a little overboard inks. Coming to me soon, several inks, including several from Pilot Iroshizuku line. Well, I am a true red bottled ink lover to my heart. Other than mixing hues of red ink and filling up my favorite fountain pen, I am not really experienced in actually testing inks for use. Do you simply fill up one fountain pen and use ink until no longer in the fountain pen, then change to another color? Do you just put enough to slightly give you some sense of the ink, maybe write with it a couple of lines, then discard? How do you play when you have a new batch of more than one ink and want to simply play by using in one or more sittings different hues of newly acquired inks? All suggestions welcome, I know if I am feeling giddy now, won't know where to begin when inks arrive. :lol:

Ea Alis Volat Propiis, per/Repletus Fontis Calamus!
She Flies by Her Own Wings, with filled Fountain Pen

Delta DolceVita, F-C Intrinsic 02, Pelikan M800 red/black striation, Bexley ATB Strawberry Swirl, Red Jinhao 159, Platinum 3776 Bourgogne. :wub:

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• fountainpenlady

• amberleadavis

• Sailor Kenshin

• F104

I keep an ink sample binder.

I get a new ink then complete my sample page with that ink.

Using a Morrisset M and XF nib I write on 4 different papers, to see what the ink looks like on the 4 papers with the 2 different size nibs. This is because I found that some inks look different, depending on what paper I write on.

Then I write a paragraph, to see how it looks like with more than 2 lines of text.

The wrinkle comes with my other pens. Some/many of my pens do not match the ink flow of my sample pens. I have pens that are wetter and dryer than the Morrisset, so the ink line will look different; darker and wider or lighter and narrower. So the ink sample pages are just a guideline.