What Makes Parker 51 So Great?

WhoCares1537

I'm relatively new to fountain pens and even when I do look at them I usually don't look at vintage. The only two Parkers I have in my possession are the Parker Sonnet and IM, both of which have written very well and I adore them both quite a bit(it should be noted that I managed to get the IM for twenty dollars). But that said, there doesn't seem to be much love for modern Parker, so I can really only assume they must have had one great past that they just can't seem to live up to. The 51 seems to be the most popular Parker collectible so what's so great about it? It doesn't look particularly nice, I'm not a huge fan of that style of nib. Is it solely because of the time it was made, it's just a good collectible? Or maybe it just writes really smooth?

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• WhoCares1537

• Matlock

• Sailor Kenshin

• inkstainedruth