Gold Nib Newbie Here, What Is Your Experience With Gold Nibs?

AngraMelo

Hey guys! So, I have 6 or 7 pens on the $30 range and of course, they dont come with a gold nib. I like drawing with my FP and I also like flex nibs. What is your experience with a gold nib? Do they right better or just different than steel? Any recommendations for a gold nib under 150?

Best!

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• AngraMelo

• Bo Bo Olson

• KBeezie

• AZBennett

The Vanishing Point has a 18k gold nib and retails for about 140 USD.

It's not a huge difference in comparison to steel nibs in my opinion (for modern pens). Main difference is that gold might look better and when it comes to making a nib more flexible, 14k gold is used.

Edited by Suji

Pelikan 140 EF | Pelikan 140 OBB | Pelikan M205 0.4mm stub | Pilot Custom Heritage 912 PO | Pilot Metropolitan M | TWSBI 580 EF | Waterman 52 1/2v

They don't write any better or worse than a steel nib. Gold began to be used in order to solve the corroded nib problem. With modern stainless steel, it's unnecessary. Buying a gold nib doesn't mean you get a flexible nib, and I have plenty of gold nibbed pens with little to no flex.

If you do want a flex nib made of gold, you need to be looking at vintage pens (which will fall under your $150 range).

There are many fountain pens with gold nibs, but there are very few flex nibs. Many modern pens come with 14k nibs, and you can even find 18k as well. But most modern pens are "nails." This allows us to make quick scratches on paper and get by with terrible handwriting! You would be very hard pressed to find a difference between a modern 14k and steel nib.

Flex is something different, and BoBo will probably be by shortly! But you best bet is to find some good vintage pens that are known for great flex (they just so happen to also be gold nibs).

Buzz