Thinking Of Buying A Desiderata Pen Instead Of A Waterman 52

BookCat

For a long time I've wanted a full-flex vintage pen. I have an Eversharp Skyline with a medium flex nib (gifted by a FPN member) which I love, but would like to go one step further. I've looked at the fleabay prices for Waterman 52's and other vintage full flexes and they are just too expensive. However, I can afford one of the plastic bodied Desiderata pens.

Does anyone have experience with both types: vintage and Desidarata? How do they compare? I realise that the latter is basically a dip nib with an ink supply and I have very little experience with dip nibs. But the price is so tempting.

• Replies 119
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Cob

• BookCat

• Cryptos

• Limner

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't have any Watermans, but I have some other vintage wet noodle nibs (Cadet and Duryea, a company or model I've not been able to find anywhere other than eBay for either pen, actually). While being wet noodles, and super easy to flex, they don't have the line width range a G nib, which is used in a Desiderata pen. However, both are very easy to flex. Very little pressure is needed to make thin and thick lines with either.

My Cadet and Duryea nibs start at a fine width and push out to about 2mm. They're small pens with small nibs, so I'm not sure how other vintage wet noodles compare. The Zebra G nib in the Desiderata goes from hairlines to about 4mm at max width. It does this consistently without railroading or skipping so long as your G nib is fully clean and you're going at a slow, even pace.