Longevity Of A Noodler's Ink Ahab?

pharmboycu

Hi everyone!

Do any of you use a Noodler's Ink Ahab as a primary writing instrument? If so, how has it held up?

I've been using an Ahab flex daily at work for a few months now. The nib has developed a nice, soft flex which I really enjoy and fortunately, I was able to adjust the feed and channels to provide the gushing flow of ink I enjoy.

That said, a couple of weeks ago when I went to refill the pen I saw the piston mechanism had popped off the threads and would not stay on, as though it were stripped somehow. I ordered a replacement pen and installed the new piston mechanism and it's working fine again.

I wonder now about the long term durability of this pen as an everyday writer seeing extensive use? Was this pen made with such use in mind or would it be better for me to find a more durable alternative?

Thanks in advance!

John

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pharmboycu

• Limner

• Tas

• fromthecrowd

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

For $20 bucks it's still an affordable option to replace I think. Also, it's possible to convert it to an eyedropper, which should extend it's life. I'm not sure how long the pen has even been around. Since 2011? Perhaps someone who knows could chime in here. How old are the oldest Ahabs? How have they stood up to constant use?

The praise of the praiseworthy is above all rewards.

I don't have an Ahab, but I have used a Konrad as a daily user for quite a while since I got it ~6 months ago and it is holding up well.

That's interesting, first I've heard of an Ahab converter coming loose. I'll keep an eye on my own pens, just in case. Turning it into an ED might be an option. I've never done it but I'm sure others on here have. That way, you'd have 2 working Ahabs.