• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• miatagrrl

• Erik Dalton

• Blaine

• Algester

I've been using Sailor's Miruai for about 6 months in a few pens (Sailor Pro Gear Full and Sapporo & a Lamy Safari) and haven't noticed any problems. Certainly no clogging! I haven't noticed any flow issues at all, actually, and they all start up and write perfectly from the very moment I uncap them and put them to the page. I haven't been fastidious about cleaning between fills of the same ink either.

So, as far as I can tell, this new Sailor ink behaves exactly as I've come to expect from the old Sailor's inks. I'll let you know how the other four Seasons go (waiting on a few new bottles). I'd be curious to hear of others' experiences though. Might my one bottle of Miruai be the exception to the rule?

I do remember people mentioning on the forum before, however, that Sailor inks do not play well with other brands. So if a pen were previously filled with a non-sailor ink and not thoroughly cleaned before a fill of Sailor ink, that might lead to problems. Just a guess at how the rumour got started....

I've been using Yama-Dori,Tokiwa-Massu, Miruai, Souten, and Shigure for several months now with no issues at all. You can expect the same great writing experience as the previous versions of the Jentle Ink series.

The new formulas have only been out for a few months right? It doesn't make sense in my mind for them to switch all the formulas, Sailor would be much more likely to pull all the colours and release new ones. Perhaps that is the origin of the rumour you heard. That a few months ago Sailor released a new line of inks? But the new inks are just as high quality as the old from what I can see.

The praise of the praiseworthy is above all rewards.

Yama-dori has been perfectly fine for me as well- no clogs whatsoever.