Lilybelle

Hello everyone! I'm Cindy.

I discovered this wonderful site a few months ago and felt I needed to join if only to say "thank you"!

I have only been using fountain pens for the past few months and still have much to learn! So far, I've made some truly cringeworthy mistakes- but after reading many comments on these forums- I feel you are a good-humored and accepting group of people (who won't throw verbal stones at me for a newbie mistake.) :)

A little about me- I am an academic librarian, mom, and wife- and a total tech geek (mostly Mac.) I enjoy writing as a way to unhook from technology and always feel much more productive when I actually hand-write out my thoughts/ideas.

I also have a love of all things office supply- mostly Levenger- and this led me to order my first Fountain Pen- the "True Writer Purple Majesty" with an extra-fine nib. I fell instantly in love with it and use it daily. A friend convinced me I would not truly experience what all the fuss was about until I tried one of the really expensive pens.... so after doing some research (nothing but Cross in stores near me!) I ordered a much-too-expensive "Pelican Souveran M600" in blue.

And here's where the "red-face" comes in.....Until it arrived, I had "assumed" it would use cartridges and somehow missed the fact that this is not the case. Couldn't understand how to remove the cartridge converter! Alas- I had never heard of and had no IDEA what a "piston-filler" was! Now I do......