Choosing An Esterbrook

Sethbash

Hey guys. I'm looking to get my first esterbrook pen and I've got a few questions.

1. What body should I get?

2. What are the best nib options? I like a finer line since I write crappy high school paper

3. Where is the best place to purchase one?

Also some things about me, I'm a high school student and I've had some limited experience with fountain pens. In my collection. So far I have a lamy Safari F, pilot metropolitan F, and a jinhao x450. Also I've used pilot varsities.

On a side note what inks do you all like to take notes in?

Do you stick with blues and blacks or go something a little more vibrant.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Sandy1

• SockAddict

• Sethbash

• injesticate

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

First off, welcome!

Second, I'd recommend a 9550 nib or similar for fine note taking.

As for body, it depends on what you are looking for and personal preference and things like the size of your hand. A J pen is a solid choice.

A guy is selling restored esterbrooks on etsy so that's a safe bet. Then there's ebay or our own classifieds.

The praise of the praiseworthy is above all rewards.

A J is a great suggestion. If you prefer something smaller there's the SJ or if you want something more slender try the LJ. All can be found rather easily and you have 6 different colors to choose from.

John L

I've bought from that seller before and have always been pleased, plus it states that it has already been restored, but if you are wanting a F or XF nib you will have to find one and buy it separately. Don't be discouraged by that though, it's a very simple nib swap and they aren't hard to find. The pen you've linked to has a medium nib.

John L

:W2FPN:

Hi,