Pilot Iroshizuku "fuyu-Gaki"

takkun

Now that I'm back in school and writing/drawing more than I ever was in the corporate world, I've rediscovered FPs, and have amassed enough pens to really make an ink collection worthwhile.

A little background: I've always been a fan of black, blue-black, and blue inks. I've got too many. Particularly the most saturated examples of which: I have tiny handwriting and write with XF nibs, so I like things like Baystate Blue and Heart of Darkness that pop off the page at those sizes.

At my university, our bookstore has a pretty spectacular fine writing selection, where I bought my first Lamy Safari almost 10 years ago (and before I was a student!). We just had a huge student discount sale, so I took the opportunity to throw in a bottle of expensive ink I wouldn't otherwise buy. So I present to you Fuyu-Gaki.

http://i.imgur.com/gxOyTDhl.jpg

(click through for larger on all photos)

Not long ago, I bought a bottle of J. Herbin Rouge de Caroubier, primarily to expand beyond blues and blacks, but partly to have an ink for taking notes on documents printed in black. Unfortunately, it seems that intense-fire-engine-red isn't too useful for much besides annotations and grading. Something I could write, particularly letters, with, was in order.

This ink caught my eye based on an illustration done by the staff (see my next thread!) in the case with the ink--it looked like a deep reddish-orange shading to a lighter yellowish hue, much like the Elegant Lady peaches I savor every summer. The images I've seen online, my own included, don't do it justice. It's a very rich color, on the darker side, but not completely monochromatic.