Pen Noob With Many Questions And A "help Me Choose..."

sirgilbert357

This is going to be LONG, but please bear with me!

New to the forum here and while I've always loved pens and just writing instruments in general, I've literally just had my mind blown in the last two days or so with all the options out there for *truly* fine writing instruments...anyways, here is what led me to you guys:

OK, go easy on me, I'm a pen noob and use a lowly stainless steel Parker Jotter for work...which may change now that I'm browsing this forum...

Anyway, I noticed the click action of my Jotter getting really sloppy and sluggish, so I disassemble it to see what's going on. The entire top part of the refill is literally coated in ink. Not the writing end, but the part with the notches for the clicking mechanism. I promptly trashed the refill and wrapped the pen body in paper towels and sealed it in a ziploc bag for the ride home...I posted this in a watch forum that I am a heavy user of (in their "Pens" subforum) and someone said to use rubbing alcohol to clean this up. Didn't have any, so I used my wife's nail polish remover (hey, what do I know, says it has acetone in it, so I figure it should work, lol). Pen came out clean after a bit of swishing around in a tupperware container of this stuff, which is ironic because I had already ordered another Parker Jotter. I guess I didn't really expect the first one to be salvageable. So, meh, I'll have two now...