Chinese Pens Leaking When Stored Nib Down.

mariom

I'm relatively new to pen infatuation, and as a means of cheaply getting a few extra pens to play with I've bought a some Chinese pens. Without exception, all the pens leak badly when stored nib down - and I don't mean just a few drops. An entire converter full of ink will drain in between 10 minutes (worst case) and overnight. So far this is happening with 3 Baoers (including the 10 minute pen) and a Jinhao X450 (the overnight pen), This is happening with the original converters, replacement converters and a new OEM Monteverde cartridge. I've also checked and re-seated the feed on the worst offender with little effect.

Is this to be expected? While I aim to store my pens horizontally, it isn't always practical to ensure that they stay horizontal at all times. I haven't seen any significant evidence of this with my better pens ( 2 x Monteverde Invincia, Parker Classic, Lamy 2000).

Is there any way to address the problem, or have I perhaps scored a batch of faulty pens?

Mario

=====================================
Mario Mirabile
Melbourne, Australia

www.miralightimaging.com

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mariom

• TorPelikan

• Icywolfe

• lupillo23

Make with a drill 1mm holes in the caps of your pens , that let no vaccuum inside on them.The converters must beeen dissassembled in order to put silicone grease into the thread for no leaking.Enjoy your pens .

Thanks for the suggestion. I can understand why a non airtight converter would cause a problem,

but the pen also leaks with a cartridge installed. Also, it happens with or without the cap.

Mario Mirabile
Melbourne, Australia

www.miralightimaging.com

I own two of the Jinhao x450 pens and ended up with a lot of ink in the cap. I never store my pens nib down. They are always stored nib up or on their side. This is one of the reasons these two pens are on my "to be decluttered" list.