Esterbrook Transitional J

bdngrd

Esterbrool Transitional J

First Impressions

I thought I would write a review of one of my favorite project pens, a blue transitional J. I originally bought it on Ebay and it was my first Esterbrook and it was dried up and crispy on the inside. Thinking that I was on my way towards great skill as a repair expert, I promptly took my new section pliers and broke the section into bits. I was very frustrated with my lack of patience and set it aside for a few months. I have also retired the pliers and have learned how to easily remove a Estie section. After putting out some feelers on the site here, I was happy to find someone who sent me a section (and a fresh sac) and now it works beautifully.

Appearance/ Finish 4 out of 5

My Estie was in very nice shape when I bought it, and it is very amazing how well these guys hold their finish and color over many years. The marbled or wavy finish is a nice, understated, yet interesting look. The color and pattern are classic Estie, I am not familiar with any other manufacturer who used this style, perhaps there are some I don't know about. The transitional is a model with a single jewel on its cap, and the end of the pen is simply flat. The jewel on this one has three ridges on it. It does not seem to be as common as the other J models. The pen has faded a little though and has scratches that would be expected for decades of desk wear.

The trim is stainless, plain, and has weathered the decades well. The clip is firm and unsprung, with no engraving on the clip. The body is imprinted Esterbrook Made in U.S.A. Capped, it measures 4 & 15/16” I fitted it with a shiny new 9668 Nib which may not be one that would have come stock on this pen, however, it is a nib I like for its smoothness.