De Atramentis Mahatma Gandhi: A Newbie’S First Attempt At An Ink Review

Dumatborlon

Oh boy, photographing pens is already quite a hassle, but scanning or photographing ink is a nightmare. In any case, this is my first attempt at doing a review. Only after I’ve written all this up I noticed all those sticky threads at the top of the forum; well, I won’t be redoing it now, it’s way too late already. :o) I will try to update the review with any suggestions though, as soon as I have the time for it.

Well, anyway. Since I couldn’t find anything on ‘De Atramentis Mahatma Gandhi’ I thought I’d whip up a quick review of it. It looks like of all inks I’ve got, I managed to pick the one which is most difficult to get into a decent picture. That’s to people who still say that fountain pens are dead. Ink on paper has character, whereas coloured pixels on a tablet are just plain and boring. On to the review then, shall we?

To summarise what I’ve written on paper and to have something indexable for Google and its friends I’ll state that this is a yellow ink. The scanner in particular has an absolutely terrible time dealing with it and just plain gives up. On the scan, the ink is orange; on paper, it is actually far brighter than that. Not as bright as in the photograph, but the photograph gets much closer than the scan. Let’s say the colour is almost as bright as the pen with which I’ve written the sample (and which is visible in the photograph). As already said: It’s a difficult ink.